Call for papers

** Abstract submission is now closed. **
Thank you for the overwhelming response! Notifications will be sent out by mid-May 2013.

The conference conveners invite proposals for papers and full panels (of 3 chaired papers) on the sample themes below and other relevant themes:

  • Design and identity in colonial and postcolonial contexts
  • Design and material culture of independence and de-colononisation
  • Design and material culture and the imperial ambitions in the context of the Cold War
  • Craft and Design in colonial and postcolonial networks
  • Design and modernism in postcolonial contexts
  • Role of design in national reconstruction in postcolonial societies
  • Design for development/ grassroots movements
  • Design exchanges in the colonial period and after through exhibitions and trade fairs
  • Design, State and Market
  • Intersection of traditional and modern design pedagogies
  • Design Education in colonial and postcolonial contexts?
  • Design discourses in diverse postcolonial geographies
  • Views from specialisations within design – industrial design, visual communication, textiles and fashion, ceramics and others

The conveners of the 2013 Design History Society international conference invite contributions from design history and related academics and scholars, design practitioners, design educators, museum professionals and students, which would illuminate postcolonial perspectives on design history. The Design History Society offers bursaries for successful student speakers who are members of the Society; so the conveners do encourage and welcome submissions from post graduate scholars. Papers are expected to make an original contribution to the field of design history that address the conference theme ‘Towards Global Histories of Design: Postcolonial Perspectives’.

Papers/panel proposals could respond to the broad themes mentioned above or propose others ways and lenses of examining the conference theme.

If you would like to propose a paper or a panel, please submit an abstract for refereeing. Paper/panel proposals must follow the rules of submission below:

1. Proposal for 25 minute papers must be submitted as below:

Page 1:

Author’s(s’) full name(s), (indicate gender (M/F), in brackets),

Title – Position – Institution

Address for correspondence

Telephone – Fax – E-mail

Theme of the paper

Title of the paper

Five keywords

Page 2:

Abstract of the paper

(Maximum 300 words, Microsoft Word document, double-spaced on A4, in 11pt Arial)

Languages: The abstract should be written in English.

2. Proposal for a full panel of 3 x 25 minute papers:

Include convener’s name, panel title, an abstract of no more than 150 words for the full panel clearly outlining its thematic interrogation, titles and 300 word abstracts for each paper clearly communicating structure and argument, and 50-100 word biography of each speaker with full professional/institutional affiliation and contact email or address.

Please send proposals to:

Proposals will be double blind reviewed and selected by the Conference Academic Committee whose members will be drawn from the diverse geographies that the conference theme seeks to focus upon, to cover a range of historical moments, geographical locations and discursive fields.

Conference Academic Committee:
Abigail McGowan, University of Vermont, Burlington
Annapurna Garimella, Independent scholar, Bangalore
Arvind Lodaya, Independent scholar, Bangalore
A Srivathsan, Adjunt faculty, School of Architecture and Planning, Anna University, Chennai
Catharine Rossi, Kingston University, London
Cheryl Buckley, Northumbria University, Newcastle
Christine Guth, Royal College of Art, London
D. Udaya Kumar, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Dipti Bhagat, London Metropolitan University, London
Divia Patel, Victoria and Albert Museum, London
Eric Stryker, Southern Methodist University, Dallas
Grace Lees-Maffei, University of Hertfordshire, Hatfield
Himanshu Burte, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai
Jeanne van Eeden, University of Pretoria, Pretoria
Jignesh Khakhar, National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad
Kjetil Fallan, University of Oslo, Oslo
Livia Rezende, State University of Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
Mona Mehta, Indian Institute of technology, Gandhinagar
Nina Sabnani, Indistrial Design Centre, Mumbai
Priscila Farias, University of Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo
S Balaram, DJ Academy, Coimbatore
Saki Mafundikwa, Zimbabwe Institute of Vigital Arts (ziva), Zimbabwe
Sally-Anne Huxtable, Northumbria University, Newcastle
Shilpa Das, National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad
Suchitra Balasubrahmanyan, Ambedkar University, Delhi
Tanishka Kachru, National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad


Advanced Windows Edinburgh . . view post